Guild is the association of former pupils of Cheltenham Ladies’ College.

It was established in 1884 by College's 2nd Principal, Miss Beale and currently has more than 8,000 active members across 71 countries worldwide (see our members world map).

It is free to join and offers many benefits including events and careers support and networking.  If you know a former pupil of College who is not presently a Guild member then please ask her to contact the Guild Office - find out more.

Many Guild members also return to College to take part in the annual reunions and to see for themselves how impressively College has moved into the 21st century.  Guild is a wonderful source of support to College and former pupils generously offer support to current girls making University and career decisions.

Eve Jardine-Young (1990, Elizabeth), the Principal of Cheltenham Ladies’ College and herself a member of Guild, is the President. Read Eve’s welcome.

Guild members have long history of being influential in their chosen professions - read more about them

Guild has a long held association with St Hilda’s East Community Centre in London which it founded in 1889 to combat deprivation and social exclusion, by providing education and recreational provision, alongside social care. Find out more.



Guild influencers

Guild members have a long history of influence in their chosen careers, with many of them being pioneers especially in being in the first women to achieve some leading positions

Jane Harrison, CLC 1868 First research fellow of Newnham College, Cambridge

Dr Alice McLaren, CLC 1876 One of the first five women to take the London MD

Zoe Grimwood, CLC 1877 Developed use of Braille in training of the deaf-blind

Dr Clara De Brereton Evans, CLC 1884 First woman to take a doctorate in Chemistry

Dame Louise Aldrich-Blake, CLC 1886 First woman to qualify as a Master of Surgery, 1895

Annie Hall, CLC 1891 First woman member of the Society of Architects (now RIBA) 1912

Dr Helen Mackay, CLC 1906 First woman fellow of the Royal College of Physicians, 1934

Dame Mary Archer, CLC 1962 Chair of the Science Museum, 2014

Rachel Lomax, CLC 1962 First female Deputy Governor of the Bank of England, 2003

Professor Lisa Jardine 1962 Historian, biographer, public thinker, broadcaster, mathematician - Chair of the human fertilisation & embryology authority for 10 years - honorary member of the Royal Society

Professor Clair Chilvers, CLC 1963 Chair, Gloucestershire NHS Trust & co-founder of ‘Mental Health Research UK’

Dr Clare Marx, CLC 1968 First female orthopaedic surgeon in London teaching hospital, 1990 & First female President of the Royal College of Surgeons, 2014

Dame Kristin Scott-Thomas 1975 Leading actress

Belinda Swain, CLC 1981 Chief Airworthiness Engineer, Rolls Royce & Recipient of the 2012 WISE Award

Amanda Wakeley, CLC 1981 Leading designer

Amber Rudd, CLC 1981 Home Secretary - MP for Hastings and Rye

Kate Reardon CLC 1987 Editor of Tatler magazine